Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

What a Difference a ......Tire Makes

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-07, 08:59 PM

Bikes: Merlin Extralight Topolino Wheels Campy Record

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Thought I'd share this point on tires. I have been riding on Continental Ultra 2000's for about three years. I had been riding on Conti GP3000's but I got a great deal on a bunch of the Ultra's. They have finally all worn out and I put on a new set of Michelin Pro Race tires (same size as the Ultra's) and I could not believe how much nicer my ride was. Mind you this is a very noticable ride improvement on a Ti bike with wheels built with Carbon&Kevlar spokes. I was actually astounded. I have no idea at this point how they will wear (the Ultra's lasted a long time), but even if they are short lived it might just be worth the trade off!
Old 05-24-07, 10:27 PM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Good to know, I'm not surprised though. I've not used Contis., they have a rep.for durability, most say that Vics. ride nicer.Vics. DO ride really well. Reviews on the Michelins are quite positive. Interesting that you're able to feel the difference. I tend to change tires while NOT in the midst of a riding season. I don't feel the difference all that much. Perhaps I'll notice it more with new Vics. that I have on order. I'd consider using your's on a rig.
Old 05-24-07, 10:28 PM

Bikes: Waterford, Orbea, Giant

Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts