Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Riding on the edge . . .

Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Riding on the edge . . .

Old 06-09-07, 07:10 AM

Bikes: Giant TCR Comp 1 Road Bike, Specialized Mountain Bike

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Riding on the edge . . .

. . . of the road.

The last time that I did any serious riding on the road was in rural Kansas – fourteen years ago. I did not have much traffic to contend with. (I had two or three hour rides where I would see one or two cars.) Six months ago I started riding my mountain bike on local green ways to get in shape. That wasn't doing much for me so a month ago I decided to get a road bike. Now I’m riding about twenty or twenty-five miles a day on the back roads in urban North Carolina. There can be a lot of traffic at times.

I have been trying to ride as close to the white line as possible. But when I do that I find that drivers are more apt to “squeeze” by. (Soccer moms in Honda mini-vans and little old ladies in old Buicks seem to be the biggest offenders.) So I decided to move out into the road . . . . not much . . . about two or three feet. That seems to aggravate some people but for the most part they don’t try to squeeze by.

So here is my question. What do you do? Do you hug the white line on the right or do you claim your “fair share” of the road and ride a few feet off the edge? (North Carolina gives bicycles certain rights. We have a "Share the Road" campaign.)
Old 06-09-07, 07:44 AM
just keep riding

Bikes: 2018 Black Mountain Cycles MCD,2017 Advocate Cycles Seldom Seen Drop Bar, 2017 Niner Jet 9 Alloy, 2015 Zukas custom road, 2003 KHS Milano Tandem, 1986 Nishiki Cadence rigid MTB, 1980ish Fuji S-12S

Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)