Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Fifty Plus (50+) (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/)
-   -   Knee pain (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/323169-knee-pain.html)

Yen 07-20-07 10:34 AM

Knee pain

I have a little pain in my left knee that began last week. Actually it's not really IN the knee... it feels like it's on the front, just below the kneecap. Now, I had knee pain before I began losing weight 3+ years ago so this isn't the first time, and it's a LOT better now.

This morning I worked out on the mini-stepper and noticed the pain after about 20 minutes. I started to wonder if the bike fit is causing it. But if it was (were?), wouldn't the pain have started as soon as I started riding? My skills are better, my legs are stronger, and I am not allowing myself to strain up hills... I ride in the lowest gear necessary and don't push it too hard.

I don't want to rip a tendon and be laid up for weeks..... :cry:

Digital Gee 07-20-07 10:38 AM

Originally Posted by Yen (Post 4893748)
I have a little pain in my left knee that began last week. Actually it's not really IN the knee... it feels like it's on the front, just below the kneecap. Now, I had knee pain before I began losing weight 3+ years ago so this isn't the first time, and it's a LOT better now.

This morning I worked out on the mini-stepper and noticed the pain after about 20 minutes. I started to wonder if the bike fit is causing it. But if it was (were?), wouldn't the pain have started as soon as I started riding? My skills are better, my legs are stronger, and I am not allowing myself to strain up hills... I ride in the lowest gear necessary and don't push it too hard.

My knee pain in February was in the exact same place. It came on suddenly, without a cause I could pinpoint. I went to three different doctors, x-rays, you name it. It was so painful I had to stay off the bike for seven weeks.