Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Learning to ride in a group

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-07, 08:43 PM

Bikes: 2012 Scorpion FX trike, 2016 Catrike 700

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I am surprised at how little we discuss having riding groups, such as clubs. I started riding one year ago. For the first four months I rode alone in the parks and local roads on my hybrid. I thought I was progressing well. In January 2007, I bought a road bike and in the middle of January I rode my first group ride. It was cold, but not miserable by any means. I kept up for about 2 miles, but with my nose running, coughing, extreme gasping for air and mumbling words that could not be understood, I fell off the group. A very nice lady with the group rode beside me and said she understood. She told me to just stay with her, which I did. I finsihed the ride. It was basically the same for the next couple of weeks as I started to understand how much work I needed to be able to ride with a moderate group. It basically proved that my solo riding was not doing that much good.
I have now finsihed a couple of century rides and can easily stay with my groups. Most certainly I would not have been to this point by riding solo. If you really want to impove your riding and heath, find a group, or two and ride with them. Just my experience.
Old 09-10-07, 09:08 PM

Bikes: 1980 Masi, 1984 Mondonico, 1984 Trek 610, 1980 Woodrup Giro, 2005 Mondonico Futura Leggera ELOS, 1967 PX10E, 1971 Peugeot UO-8

Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Quoted: 1856 Post(s)
Liked 664 Times in 506 Posts
Great story! Maybe I should get out with the local club more!

Road Fan
Old 09-10-07, 09:11 PM
Let's do a Century