Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Spinning Class?

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Spinning Class?

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-07, 10:33 PM

Bikes: Felt Z35

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Spinning Class?

Thanking about taking some spinn classes. Has anyone here ever taken them? I will have to join a health club. The only thing I would want is to spinn . Will it be worth it? I have heard it helps with climbing. It's a lot of money for one thing. Would I be just as well off riding?
Old 11-15-07, 11:29 PM
Don't mince words

Bikes: '16 BH Quartz, 2017 Calfeecustom carbon tandem, Fuji D6 TT bike

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
I'm a Spinning instructor, have been since '97. It's what got me back on a real bike. Spinning helps not only with hill climbing, but with sprinting and cardiovascular fitness as well. You'll want to be sure it's Spinning that your club offers, rather than Cycle Reebok or other programs that are more like aerobics on a bike.

If you're going to spend the money to join a club, why don't you take advantage of the weight room as well? That's another way to get stronger for those hill climbs. Does the club have a jacuzzi, sauna or steam room? You might as well use as many amenities as possible, to get your money's worth.

How's the weather where you are? Will you be able to get out as much as you want to this winter? If not, you're well served to pursue Spinning classes.

Good luck!
Old 11-16-07, 07:04 AM
Bikin' and Hikin'

Bikes: Lemond Reno, Diamondback Topanga Mountain Bike

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts