Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Fifty Plus (50+) (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/)
-   -   Heart rate monitors (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/405916-heart-rate-monitors.html)

te2009 04-09-08 09:16 AM

Heart rate monitors

I just started riding a bike after a twenty year hiatus.

Although I'm taking it real slow, my goal is still to get a good aerobic workout,
or at least as good as my body can take

I 'm thinking of getting one of those Heart Rate Monitors,
so that i'll be able to better gauge my workouts.

anyone here had any experience with the HRMs?
and what is the difference between "Target Heart Rate"
and "Maximum Heart Rate?" And what is a "Zone?"
I've read some articles online that try to explain,
but i still don't get it.

thanks

BSLeVan 04-09-08 09:52 AM

Yes, I use a heart rate monitor early in the season to keep from over training.

"Target Heart Rate" - This is the heart rate you are attempting to reach and hold for a given workout. Hence, during a hard workout where you are pushing the aerobic limits, the target heart rate would be higher than on a rest day ride where you were recovering from more strenuous workouts.

"Maximum Heart Rate" - This is the upper limit of where one should allow the heart rate to go. That is, once you hit this, you should probably be backing off, because you could be doing damage or putting yourself at risk.