Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Biking Short or not that’s my?

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-08, 02:10 PM

Bikes: 2007 Trek 2100 58cm

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Just want to know how many riders don’t wear padded biker’s shorts and how far are they riding? I have not bought any biker shorts. At first it was uncomfortable but I only rode for 20 min, Now my long rides are 42 miles (2 hours & 19 min) once a week and it is uncomfortable but each week its less. I started riding about 90 days ago. I’m going to ride in a local 85 mile ride in October. But or not to Buy
Old 08-07-08, 02:15 PM
Time for a change.

Location: 6 miles inland from the coast of Sussex, in the South East of England

Bikes: Dale MT2000. Bianchi FS920 Kona Explosif. Giant TCR C. Boreas Ignis. Pinarello Fp Uno.

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 5 Times in 4 Posts
The padding is shorts is not there to give you comfort. What it does though is give an area to sit on that does not have any seams in to save any wrinkle pain and to wick sweat away to stop the wrinkles turning into sores. And as to not riding in shorts-Forget it.

Spike Milligan
Old 08-07-08, 02:17 PM
Senoir Membre

Bikes: Centurion Le Mans, Bianchi Sport, Trek 3500

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Your thread title makes my head hurt.

I would say since they make an immense difference in confort, and aerodynamics, there are few reasons not to. Why wouldn't you?

If you are looking to justify thinking they aren't helpful enough to spend a bit of money on them, then you will be disappointed by this thread after a few hours. Do a search.

Nobody who cycles seriously and rides for over an hour doesn't wear cycling shorts. It doesn't make sense not to!