Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Doctor in the house

Old 08-16-08, 03:58 PM
George

Bikes: Specialized Roubaix

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Doctor in the house

I've been fitted 3 times by different people, but I keep having this problem with my right knee. I was trying to pick up my speed some today for a 50 mile ride and I got home I had to ice my knee up. It happens on long rides more than short ones so I don't know if it's fit or not. I've been riding for 2 years and I really don't hammer like I would like to, because of my knee.
When I did get fitted I told the guy that my right leg was shorter than the other. So I laid on the floor and he pulled on my heels and did say it was about a quarter of an inch shorter. According to Pruitts and his book, that, that isn't enough to justify any special needs.
I was wondering if a sports doctor could fit me better, than anybody in a shop and I could have my insurance pick it up.
The bike feels go and I'm pretty comfortable on it, but the minute I start riding hard or long I have this problem. The bike is a Specialized Roubaix, but I seem to have the problem on my Jamis Coda more. I wondering if I'm aggravating my knee with the Coda and then when I do my long rides with the Roubaix, I feel it more. Thanks for any replies.
Old 08-16-08, 04:09 PM
Tom Bombadil
His Brain is Gone!

Bikes: RANS Stratus, Bridgestone CB-1, Trek 7600, Sun EZ-Rider AX, Fuji Absolute 1.0, Cayne Rambler 3

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
If the crankset has removable crank arms, it is possible to use different sized arms. I've read of people doing this.

Do the Roubaix and Coda have the same length crank arms? That is, do both bikes have 175mm arms?

Are you using the same pedals set up with the same float on both? Pedal type and float can affect your knees.