Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Fred

Old 06-26-09, 02:17 PM

Bikes: Cervelo R3, P2C

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Fred

So, it took me a year since I started riding (July 2008) to hear the term Fred which I had to Google. Ouch. If you are over 50, own 2 fancy carbon bikes but ride them lots, do centuries and charity rides, does that remove the Fred designation?
Old 06-26-09, 02:29 PM
Time for a change.

Location: 6 miles inland from the coast of Sussex, in the South East of England

Bikes: Dale MT2000. Bianchi FS920 Kona Explosif. Giant TCR C. Boreas Ignis. Pinarello Fp Uno.

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Originally Posted by cervelo-van
If you are over 50, own 2 fancy carbon bikes but ride them lots, do centuries and charity rides, does that remove the Fred designation?
Only if you are OCP enough to wear the red shorts with your 50+ jersey

Spike Milligan
Old 06-26-09, 02:33 PM
It's MY mountain

Bikes: Klein, Merckx, Trek

Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Quoted: 4334 Post(s)
Liked 2,977 Times in 1,614 Posts
A lot of people - including the FredCast guy - like to think that Fred means somebody who likes the latest techie bike stuff... GPS, Di2, powertaps, etc.

But Fred simply means a dork or a geek on a bike... doesn't matter how much of that stuff you have or don't have but it does sort of imply that you act as though you're a better or more serious rider than you really are.

So to not be a Fred - don't act like one, don't look like one, and it doesn't much matter what you ride (within reason).
Old 06-26-09, 02:40 PM
Version 7.0

Bikes: Too Many

Mentioned: 297 Post(s)
Quoted: 1338 Post(s)
Liked 2,473 Times in 1,448 Posts