Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

First fall in clips

Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

First fall in clips

Old 10-09-09, 05:25 PM
donheff

Bikes: Specialized Tricross Comp

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked 26 Times in 18 Posts
First fall in clips

I have been riding clipless for about 2 years now without a fall. I read all the posts here about accepting the inevitable and vowed to beat the odds and for all this time I did. I have SPD pedals with a platform on one side so I routinely clip out on the right side before stopping and ride on the platform until I get back under way. Had a number of quick stops leading to close calls but never went down. Yesterday I felt a bump, bump, bump of something adhering to my tire or a dreaded embolism (or whatever we call a tube expanding thru a hole). I quickly stopped, unclipping on the right side and then, of course, leaning to the left to get a good view of the tire. Duh! Timber -- bam, smash! A slightly bloody leg but no serious injuries except to my ego. Oh, well, you all did say it was inevitable.
Old 10-09-09, 05:33 PM
DnvrFox
Banned.

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Welcome to the club.

You failed to mention how many giggling young beautiful ladies were watching!
Old 10-09-09, 05:44 PM
old and new

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
You weren't used to leaning to view your tire so you fell, now you'll be prepared for the next time. We always have to learn everything at least once. I don't think I'll ever get used to them. Fortunately/unfortunately I've other bikes to fall back on.
Old 10-09-09, 05:45 PM
old and new

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
There's another post about falling, it's a poll, I hate polls.
Old 10-09-09, 06:28 PM
jppe
Let's do a Century