Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Too old to start racing?

Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Too old to start racing?

Old 08-29-10, 09:14 PM
Legs; OK! Lungs; not!

Bikes: ''09 Motobecane Immortal Pro (Yellow), '02 Diamondback Hybrid, '09 Lamborghini Viaggio, ''11 Cervelo P2

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 9 Times in 4 Posts
Too old to start racing?

I started riding this "weird bikes with the skinny tires and uncomfortable seats" in March of '09, and I was surprised to find I really enjoyed it. I've been riding pretty regular, 3 - 5 x per week, and about 40 mi a pop. Twice I week at 5:30 AM I meet up with some younger guys and we do wind sprints.

I've become a pretty solid B+ rider. Some of the guys are encouraging me to enter local some age class races. I'm 62.5 (I've ridden my metric age several times since my metric b'day) and I can hold my own at 20 - 22 all day in a pace line, and 24+ for about 30 min or so. I can usually find something left to "pour it on" in a short sprint. I just hit a new personal best of 31.4 mph on a slight incline trying to catch a 20 y/o hot shot on an uphill break away.

I really don't know anything about the amature bike racing scene. Does anyone have any experience in this? What are the age classes? I don't think I can be at all competitive in a 55+ age group, but I think I maybe avoid major embarrassment in a 60+ class.

Any experienced senior racers out there?
Old 08-29-10, 09:57 PM
Version 7.0

Bikes: Too Many

Mentioned: 297 Post(s)
Quoted: 1338 Post(s)
Liked 2,473 Times in 1,448 Posts