Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Fifty Plus (50+) (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/)
-   -   RtR Day 4 (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/743649-rtr-day-4-a.html)

jppe 06-14-11 05:06 PM

RtR Day 4

230 miles down and 670 more to go!

I came back to the tent after breakfast to a light sprinkle. Great. I got to pack up a wet tent. At least it stopped before I started riding.

Today was 80 miles to Steamboat Springs. The roads were more similar to what I'm accustomed to riding back home but the view and backdrop is a lot different. We had 2 good climbs in the first 37 miles. In fact there was 4000+ ft of climbing over the first 37 miles which is a good bit.

The second climb was 7-8 miles and went on forever. Usually I check the route sheet so I'll know how to pace a climb. I checked it last night but all the routes are running together in my head so I could not remember. It was one of those climbs where you round a bend thinking you're close to the top only to see the road winding up far away with cyclists on it.

Plus we had a pretty strong headwind about all day. We were guessing a steady 15 mph but some think 20! I can't think of any positives for being a taller rider. The view is just not that much better a little higher up! But boy do you catch the wind!

The last 60 miles looked to be downhill but with the wind there wasn't any relief from pedaling.

I almost took a picture of a stop sign as I don't think we had one until Steamboat Springs!

I only stopped twice today. The pancakes were terrific as always.

I was fighting the headwind when a tandem pulling 8 riders came screaming by. I easily jumped in and my speed went up about 5mph. I was in heaven-going faster with less effort. But they pulled off within a mile at a rest stop. I should have stopped with them but pedaled on. They did catch me about 20 miles later and I tried to jump on again-but it was on a dowhill and was just too much of an effort.