Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Fifty Plus (50+) (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/)
-   -   SRAM Apex (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/748714-sram-apex.html)

SaiKaiTai 07-04-11 01:53 AM

SRAM Apex

I'm toying with the thought of swapping out the drivetrain on my Jamis with SRAM's Apex. Thoughts?

jdon 07-04-11 05:54 AM

I put a 11-32 and RD on my Force equipped cross bike and love the range. This was done for a 70 km fun/race that combines road and single track. Worked really well. I have never ridden a full Apex bike but the guys with Apex equipped Roubaix's really like them for the gear ratios. Mind you, most of them are MTB guys that ride road when the trails are too muddy.

RonH 07-04-11 06:51 AM

My Specialized Tarmac came with SRAM Apex 11-28. I've been riding Shimano 105 and Ultegra for 11 years. Now after 6 months with the Apex I'm still trying the get the hang of shifting while climbing when out of the saddle. I'd much rather have a 105 setup but that would break the bank. :(

Barrettscv 07-04-11 07:25 AM

I was able to use a Sram Apex 11-32 ten speed cassette with my Ultegra shifters and derailleurs. You might need to use a 105 or Ultegra "GS" long cage road rear derailleur depending on what crank you have and how long the rear hanger on the frame is.

see: http://www.bikeforums.net/showthread...r-fear-no-hill

jgjulio 07-04-11 07:52 AM

I have used 105's and Tiagras for all my bikes until I bought my Roubaix with Apex 11-32.
I actually like the double tap system of shifting much better than Shimano's but I did not like the gear spacing on the 11-32 cassette.
I changed the cassette to a 12-27 and am happy as a clam.

TomD77 07-04-11 08:14 AM