Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Fifty Plus (50+) (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/)
-   -   Back Fusion (https://www.bikeforums.net/fifty-plus-50/750136-back-fusion.html)

Metric Man 07-09-11 12:16 PM

Back Fusion

After a search, which apparently I'm not very good at, I couldn't find what I was looking for, but I know I've seen on this forum before...back fusion. :eek: It seems I'm a candidate for L5-4 fusion an possibly all the way to L2-5. With no disc (bone on bone) 4-5 and L5 mis-aligned that one is a given. Badly bulging between L3-4 and touching on one side and L2-3 basically touching as well. Numbness in my right leg has been there for about 6 months, some days worse than others and constant discomfort in the lower back (except when riding I might add :D) for a couple of years, I went to have it checked out. After the xrays I was referred to an orthopedic surgeon and I see the ortho on Monday and we'll see where I end up, but the real question was the outcome. Who has had this done and what are your results? How long off the bike as well as work? I drive a truck so I expect to be off a little longer than some. Any input appreciated.

Hairy Hands 07-09-11 12:36 PM

I had back surgery in Oct 10. Spondeliothesis was diagnosis. L5 to S1. Needed L4 L5 fused and 2 rods and 4 screws to hold it all together. I had numbness in rt leg, and severe sciatic pain in left leg. I went to 5 orthopedic surgeons before I found the right one. Young guy (38) that specialized in micro back surgery (endoscopic). I ended up getting a Anterior/Postier 360 type surgery. Basically had a small 1" incision in my lower stomach and 2 small 1" incisions vertically along my lower spine. Out of hospital in 3 days. Walking a mile at day 7. Doing 30 miles on my bike by day 21. Released back to work in 30 days with a minimal lifting restriction. No pain whatsoever after the surgery.

Metric Man 07-09-11 12:41 PM