Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

My 1st Triathlon

Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

My 1st Triathlon

Old 08-13-12, 01:03 PM

Bikes: 2014 Cervelo S3 Ultegra 2012 TREK Superfly 29'r FS 2012 Cervelo S5 Rival w/FLO 60's - 07 TREK Pilot 2.1 triple

Liked 63 Times in 10 Posts
My 1st Triathlon

My 1st triathlon at age 58! I don't consider myself old but at 58 I really didn't think I'd be doing a triathlon (albeit a sprint distance). Since this all started when I began riding I thought that this would be an acceptable post.

I started riding around 3 years ago as a way to rehab from a torn meniscus I got from a fall. I'd been a lifetime runner to that point ( ran for my College x-country and track teams). I started out with a Trek Pilot 2.1 that I bought new ( but it was 2 years old at the time). I've since moved up to a Cervelo S5 Rival I got during the $1,000 off promotion (great deal). After recovering from the meniscus surgery I went back to running, but also added more cycling as it seemed to really help with my running. My youngest son signed up for his 1st triathlon and challenged me to do it as well. I am not a swimmer, but was able to work up to a 1/4 mile in the pool non stop. The tri swim was shorter than that.