Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

National Senior Games

Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

National Senior Games

Old 04-09-13, 11:58 AM

Bikes: Sette Mountain Bike and Gravity Road Bike

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
National Senior Games

I have been mountain biking for a few years and love it. My Mountain Biking buddy talked me into doing a century on April 20 so bought a road bike and a month ago I started training. I have worked up to 70 miles so feel like the 100 will be okay. I am 68 years old. I ride with my buddies who are all at least 20 years younger than I am and do well against them so I thought I might take it a little further and enter a race. I found the National Senior Games and checked their cycling info. Looks like the people in my age catagory are riding 40k at an avg speed of 22mph. I rode 60 miles yesterday and averaged 17mph and thot that was good, but seems like 22mph for 25 miles (40k) is going to be difficult if not impossible. I was wondering if in the senior games the riders ride in a group and possibly draft from each other or maybe they pull up on their pedals to give them additional speed (I have clip in pedals but don't really pull up on them, as a matter of fact, I'm not sure what advantage clip ins provide) My bike is a $600 mail order bike (Bikes Direct) and it weighs about 23 pounds so if I had a lighter bike maybe I could increase my speed a bit. I was wondering if there is a forum I could go to that talks exclusively about senior racing and maybe I could get some answers. I read somewhere that on this site there was a subforum for 50+ racing but I can't find it. Thanks for your help, John R
Old 04-09-13, 01:12 PM
Beicwyr Hapus