Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Ymmv

Old 08-06-13, 08:22 PM
Planemaker

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 4 Posts
Ymmv

When I started riding in March I thought a 5 mile ride was a lot. Five months later 30 miles seems like a walk in the park.

FYI - Switching to 28mm tires from 32mm tires seems to have increased my speed by greater than 1 mph and headwinds seem a lot easier.
Old 08-06-13, 08:34 PM
ericm979

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Did you set your computer for the new smaller tires?
Old 08-06-13, 08:39 PM
Planemaker

I have a Garmin 510 it senses the tire size but, I will check.
Old 08-06-13, 08:46 PM
Dudelsack 
A might bewildered...

Bikes: Bacchetta Giro ATT 26; Lemond Buenos Aires

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 1 Post
Originally Posted by ericm979 View Post
Did you set your computer for the new smaller tires?
You buzzkill, you.
Old 08-06-13, 09:06 PM
GeneO

Bikes: 2018 Roubaix Expert Di2, 2016 Diverge Expert X1

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Quoted: 459 Post(s)
Liked 105 Times in 73 Posts
Originally Posted by Planemaker View Post
I have a Garmin 510 it senses the tire size but, I will check.
It uses GPS to calculate your speed. It can't sense your tire size.

Anyway, good for you! That's good progress. The smaller tires should roll better if they run at higher pressure.
Old 08-06-13, 09:25 PM
Planemaker

Originally Posted by GeneO View Post
It uses GPS to calculate your speed. It can't sense your tire size.

Anyway, good for you! That's good progress. The smaller tires should roll better if they run at higher pressure.