Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

New to the forums and liking what I see

Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Old 12-21-14, 11:30 AM
avidone1

Bikes: 2016 Specialized crosstrail comp disc

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I was really glad to see this 50+ forum....I'm 65 and pretty fit.
I've been riding a bicycle for about 10 years...recreation and fitness, but recently have gotten a little more serious.
I traded in my fuji crosstown for a cannondale adventure 2. the fuji was causing backaches and i thought the adjustable
handlebar on the cannondale would help ....and it did.
But now that I'm riding in excess of an hour or more my ass is hurting....specifically right at the sit bones.
The saddle on my adventure has springs and sits on suspension seatpost. It is also pretty well padded , but I'm wondering if that may be part of the problem.
My research indicates that as we ride longer....less is more when it comes to padding.
Other research seems to suggest that altering the seat angle and distance can alleviate pain.
As you can see I'm a little overwhelmed. I have been gradually increasing my time/distance, and am happy to report that I'm not suffering any injuries.
I want to keep progressing at my slow and steady rate, but this 'pain in my ass' is my only limiting factor.
I would love to hear actual experience from older riders.
thanks.
don
Old 12-21-14, 01:19 PM
decotriumph 

Bikes: 2016 Trek FX 7.4, 2015 Focus Raven, 1896 Bellis

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I've found that a padded chamois with an application of chamois cream is more important than a padded seat on a road bike. I'm 64.
2016 Trek FX 7.4
Old 12-21-14, 01:48 PM
JanMM
rebmeM roineS

Bikes: RANS V3 ti, RANS V-Rex, RANS Screamer

Mentioned: 15 Post(s)