Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Indoor & Stationary Cycling Forum
Reload this Page >

Riding a custom elevation profile on smart trainer

Notices
Indoor & Stationary Cycling Forum From spin to Zwift to Peloton, this forum is dedicated to any and all indoor training on stationary bikes

Riding a custom elevation profile on smart trainer

Old 07-16-20, 06:48 AM
  #1  
Andy Somnifac 
Shut up legs.
Thread Starter
 
Andy Somnifac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,278

Bikes: Too many.

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked 159 Times in 79 Posts
Riding a custom elevation profile on smart trainer

Let's say that I want to ride the profile of a climb that I've done, but isn't local to me (there are no climbs near me), on my smart trainer (Saris H3).

Wintergreen (VA) Hill Climb:


Is there a means to do so? To upload a custom profile to one of the many apps out there so I can try grinding through it again?
__________________


Andy Somnifac is offline  
Old 07-16-20, 06:55 AM
  #2  
spelger
Senior Member
 
spelger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: reno, nv
Posts: 1,150

Bikes: yes, i have one

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 557 Post(s)
Liked 533 Times in 318 Posts
I wrote my own PC app to do this. Surely there must be others too.
spelger is offline  
Likes For spelger:
Old 07-19-20, 01:16 PM
  #3  
Greiselman
longtime noob
 
Greiselman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 139

Bikes: 2018 Trek Domane SL 6 // 1999 Trek 5000 // Burley Encore X

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked 60 Times in 26 Posts
Zwift has this feature and lets you build a workout around that elevation profile.

https://whatsonzwift.com/gpx-to-zwift-workout/
Greiselman is offline  
Likes For Greiselman:
Old 07-20-20, 06:14 PM
  #4  
surak
Senior Member
 
surak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Seattle
Posts: 1,610

Bikes: Specialized Roubaix, Canyon Inflite AL SLX, Priority Continuum Onyx, Santana Vision, Kent Dual-Drive Tandem

Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 704 Post(s)
Liked 544 Times in 312 Posts
I thought any bike computer with controllable trainer support could do this. I know it's an option on the Wahoo Elemnt, although I've never tried it.
surak is offline  
Likes For surak:
Old 07-29-20, 10:23 PM
  #5  
Barry2 
LRP=HR
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 1,098

Bikes: 79 Holdsworth Special, 93 C-dale MT3000 Tandem, 96 C-dale F700CAD3, 2018 Cervelo R3, JustGo Runt, Ridley Oval, Kickr Bike 8-)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 412 Post(s)
Liked 428 Times in 267 Posts
I just did this with my Wahoo Bolt and Kickr Bike. I wanted a custom FTP Ramp Test on the Bolt in ERG mode. Works great.

Barry
Barry2 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.