Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Indoor & Stationary Cycling Forum
Reload this Page >

Kickstart device that allows peloton to zwift.

Notices
Indoor & Stationary Cycling Forum From spin to Zwift to Peloton, this forum is dedicated to any and all indoor training on stationary bikes

Kickstart device that allows peloton to zwift.

Old 01-05-21, 06:18 PM
  #1  
mstateglfr 
Sunshine
Thread Starter
 
mstateglfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 12,268

Bikes: '18 class built steel roadbike, '19 Fairlight Secan, '88 Schwinn Premis , Black Mountain Cycles Monstercross V4, '89 Novara Trionfo

Mentioned: 97 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5008 Post(s)
Liked 2,316 Times in 1,361 Posts
Kickstart device that allows peloton to zwift.

https://bikerumor.com/2021/01/05/shi...-online-world/

+/- 10% accuracy
mstateglfr is offline  
Old 01-05-21, 08:13 PM
  #2  
spelger
Senior Member
 
spelger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: reno, nv
Posts: 714

Bikes: yes, i have one

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked 266 Times in 152 Posts
sad that for as much as a peloton costs you need to manually adjust its resistance. there is a market for everything i guess.
spelger is offline  
Old 01-05-21, 09:03 PM
  #3  
Atlas Shrugged
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked 243 Times in 135 Posts
A bit misleading. They show Zwift running on the Peloton display however only way to do that would be hack the panel. Plus they are not picking up power from the Peloton Bike but estimating power curve which is notoriously inaccurate.
Atlas Shrugged is offline  
Old 01-06-21, 09:13 AM
  #4  
jadocs
Senior Member
 
jadocs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 2,128

Bikes: Ti, Mn Cr Ni Mo Nb, Al, C

Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 906 Post(s)
Liked 497 Times in 333 Posts
The only thing you are getting from that is up to 4hrs of resistance control. Power estimation will not be accurate (by default speed will not be accurate) ...and cadence will come from your own cadence sensor. Zwift will have to be run on a separate screen.

Good for people who are already invested in the peloton and are not concerned with realism...but just looking to add another option to spin class or do something different with the trainer they already own.
jadocs is offline  
Old 01-06-21, 02:16 PM
  #5  
mstateglfr 
Sunshine
Thread Starter
 
mstateglfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 12,268

Bikes: '18 class built steel roadbike, '19 Fairlight Secan, '88 Schwinn Premis , Black Mountain Cycles Monstercross V4, '89 Novara Trionfo

Mentioned: 97 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5008 Post(s)
Liked 2,316 Times in 1,361 Posts
+/- 10% accuracy is terrible and I have no interest in this product, but I see the question asked from time to time about how to get peloton to work with zwift.
mstateglfr is offline  
Old 01-06-21, 03:14 PM
  #6  
billridesbikes
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked 244 Times in 148 Posts
Originally Posted by mstateglfr View Post
+/- 10% accuracy is terrible and I have no interest in this product, but I see the question asked from time to time about how to get peloton to work with zwift.
My guess is that your cycling power output varies depending on the individual characteristics of the particular bike or trainer you ride anyway it's not necessarily an absolute number that transfers 1:1 between bikes.
As long as you consider it 'Peloton Power' it's probably a fine enough number to try to track and improve.
billridesbikes is offline  
Old 01-06-21, 04:33 PM
  #7  
mstateglfr 
Sunshine
Thread Starter
 
mstateglfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 12,268

Bikes: '18 class built steel roadbike, '19 Fairlight Secan, '88 Schwinn Premis , Black Mountain Cycles Monstercross V4, '89 Novara Trionfo

Mentioned: 97 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5008 Post(s)
Liked 2,316 Times in 1,361 Posts
Originally Posted by billridesbikes View Post
My guess is that your cycling power output varies depending on the individual characteristics of the particular bike or trainer you ride anyway it's not necessarily an absolute number that transfers 1:1 between bikes.
As long as you consider it 'Peloton Power' it's probably a fine enough number to try to track and improve.
Totally agree that if its consistent, then the accuracy isnt too important.
I meant that +/- 10% accuracy for zwift is terrible since its competing with others. If you are doing actual 200w against others doing 200w, but show 180w or 220w, that is pretty significant.
Most smart trainers are 1-3%.
mstateglfr is offline  
Old 01-06-21, 06:12 PM
  #8  
dmanthree
Senior Member
 
dmanthree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northeastern MA, USA
Posts: 1,253

Bikes: 2017 Roubaix

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 468 Post(s)
Liked 116 Times in 82 Posts
If you want to Zwift, why not just get either the Wahoo or Tacx stationary bikes?

Nothing against Peleton, but this makes no sense.
dmanthree is offline  
Old 01-06-21, 06:57 PM
  #9  
spelger
Senior Member
 
spelger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: reno, nv
Posts: 714

Bikes: yes, i have one

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked 266 Times in 152 Posts
Originally Posted by mstateglfr View Post
+/- 10% accuracy is terrible and I have no interest in this product, but I see the question asked from time to time about how to get peloton to work with zwift.
considering the hacked solution to a real problem i don't think 10% is all that bad. the peloton already has a 10% accuracy claim according to the article. its neat that someone has done this but still sad that anyone needed to.
spelger is offline  
Old 01-06-21, 06:59 PM
  #10  
spelger
Senior Member
 
spelger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: reno, nv
Posts: 714

Bikes: yes, i have one

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked 266 Times in 152 Posts
Originally Posted by dmanthree View Post
If you want to Zwift, why not just get either the Wahoo or Tacx stationary bikes?

Nothing against Peleton, but this makes no sense.
because someone may already own one? those bikes you mention are not cheap. this unit is less than $300. my sister falls into this category, already has a peloton. the article claims over a million peloton bikes out there. much more than i ever would have expected.
spelger is offline  
Old 01-06-21, 07:53 PM
  #11  
dmanthree
Senior Member
 
dmanthree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northeastern MA, USA
Posts: 1,253

Bikes: 2017 Roubaix

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 468 Post(s)
Liked 116 Times in 82 Posts
Originally Posted by spelger View Post
because someone may already own one? those bikes you mention are not cheap. this unit is less than $300. my sister falls into this category, already has a peloton. the article claims over a million peloton bikes out there. much more than i ever would have expected.
True, but can you Zwift by just adding "power" pedals? Never used a Peleton...
dmanthree is offline  
Old 01-06-21, 09:55 PM
  #12  
spelger
Senior Member
 
spelger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: reno, nv
Posts: 714

Bikes: yes, i have one

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked 266 Times in 152 Posts
Originally Posted by dmanthree View Post
True, but can you Zwift by just adding "power" pedals? Never used a Peleton...
don;t know. don't have one and have no interest in one. based on what i've read here on BF i presume you probably could put power pedals on a peloton. there seem to be a lot of folks that have some pretty compoicated setups. mine is quite simple: smart trainer, laptop, ant dongle. add a tv for large screen but not really needed.
spelger is offline  
Old 01-07-21, 09:54 AM
  #13  
Ed Wiser
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked 50 Times in 30 Posts
The problem with riding a spin bike on Zwift. Is there is no feedback loop. You have inputs like power, speed and heart rate. But there is no feedback from the program telling the bike that a hill is certain percent. A spin bike doesnít have a resistance loop. It may give you a warm fuzzy feeling that you are riding on Zwift fast. But it is not actually working the way the program was designed. Zwift allows it to happen because it lowers the barrier for those spin bike riders to give Zwift money.
Ed Wiser is offline  
Old 01-07-21, 10:38 AM
  #14  
billridesbikes
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked 244 Times in 148 Posts
Originally Posted by Ed Wiser View Post
The problem with riding a spin bike on Zwift. Is there is no feedback loop. You have inputs like power, speed and heart rate. But there is no feedback from the program telling the bike that a hill is certain percent. A spin bike doesnít have a resistance loop. It may give you a warm fuzzy feeling that you are riding on Zwift fast. But it is not actually working the way the program was designed. Zwift allows it to happen because it lowers the barrier for those spin bike riders to give Zwift money.
But that's exactly what this device tries to provide, the resistance feedback for a 'dumb' spin bike as provided by Zwift. Or am I missing something?
Given all the guys riding with only a cadence/speed sensor or an over/under-inflated tire on their trainer I think this solution is kind of slick.
If you can afford a Peloton bike and the $40 subscribtion every month adding Zwift too probably isn't a big deal for you.
billridesbikes is offline  
Likes For billridesbikes:
Old 01-07-21, 11:59 AM
  #15  
Ed Wiser
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked 50 Times in 30 Posts
But a peloton will not give you that much resistance as a smart trainer. All it does is turn the knob. An it will not be a calibrated resistance.
Ed Wiser is offline  
Old 01-07-21, 03:31 PM
  #16  
billridesbikes
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked 244 Times in 148 Posts
Originally Posted by Ed Wiser View Post
But a peloton will not give you that much resistance as a smart trainer. All it does is turn the knob. An it will not be a calibrated resistance.
Having used both Peloton and a smart trainer, a Peloton will be able to give you probably more resistance than a smart trainer, not less. I think the risk is that you have too much resistance, not too little. However the resistance selection on the Peloton is pretty smooth and easy to fine tune while you're riding. I've never been a good sprinter, but it at least it has no trouble with my puny ~900W efforts.
All your smart trainer is doing is turning a virtual knob in the device to increase or decrease the magnetic resistance. I believer the new Peloton is able to do something similar so you can automatically follow the class resistance. Your smart trainer could have given you a physical knob too.

In Zwift riders can set their smart trainer to between 0%-100% difficultly for the applied resistance, so as long as it responds to the grade in zwift in a predictable way (steeper=harder, more steeper=more harder) the idea of 'calibrated' resistance is meaningless because everyone can choose how much resistance to simulate anyway. Zwift moves you along the course based your power output and in game bike you're guy is using, not on how much resistance its applying to your trainer.
billridesbikes is offline  
Old 01-07-21, 05:03 PM
  #17  
Ed Wiser
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked 50 Times in 30 Posts
I have used a peloton and have turned the knob all the way up to its max. It does not have the resistance of my Kickr bike.
You also have the issue that this is a Kickstarter and in most cases it will be years before it comes to market.
Ed Wiser is offline  
Old 01-08-21, 09:51 AM
  #18  
msu2001la
Senior Member
 
msu2001la's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Midwest
Posts: 1,153
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 460 Post(s)
Liked 300 Times in 198 Posts
Originally Posted by dmanthree View Post
True, but can you Zwift by just adding "power" pedals? Never used a Peleton...
Yes. This would also be way more accurate than the device being discussed, though adding power meter pedals to your Peloton is a very expensive setup that would still leave you with a single-speed bike and manually controlled resistance. You'd have to really love riding your Peloton bike to add $700 pedals (and a second screen) just to ride it on Zwift.

This device seems to work by sending estimated power based on resistance to Zwift and also allows Zwift to automatically control the resistance on the bike, so it basically turns an otherwise "dumb" Peloton bike into a "smart" trainer. It also looks like it simulates gearing by also adding/removing resistance. They show Zwift running on the Peloton screen, but I don't think that's possible without hacking the unit. So, the end result is going to be a very expensive setup with accuracy that is not going to be anywhere near as good as a basic wheel-on smart trainer setup, with a messy second screen setup.

The weird thing about a Peloton bike is that it has the ability to be a really awesome Zwift machine, or even a direct competitor to Zwift. It has a built-in power meter and measures resistance. It connects to bluetooth, has a built in CPU and a nice huge screen, etc. Peloton is a closed platform though, and doesn't broadcast any info outside of its own network. I've also never understood why Peloton doesn't have a more sophisticated resistance control (like an ERG mode), or provide automatic resistance control for "scenic rides". It'a a nice spin bike, but comes with a tightly controlled closed platform aimed squarely at participating in spin classes and really nothing else.
msu2001la is offline  
Likes For msu2001la:
Old 01-08-21, 11:13 AM
  #19  
spelger
Senior Member
 
spelger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: reno, nv
Posts: 714

Bikes: yes, i have one

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked 266 Times in 152 Posts
Originally Posted by billridesbikes View Post
Having used both Peloton and a smart trainer, a Peloton will be able to give you probably more resistance than a smart trainer, not less. I think the risk is that you have too much resistance, not too little. However the resistance selection on the Peloton is pretty smooth and easy to fine tune while you're riding. I've never been a good sprinter, but it at least it has no trouble with my puny ~900W efforts.
All your smart trainer is doing is turning a virtual knob in the device to increase or decrease the magnetic resistance. I believer the new Peloton is able to do something similar so you can automatically follow the class resistance. Your smart trainer could have given you a physical knob too.

In Zwift riders can set their smart trainer to between 0%-100% difficultly for the applied resistance, so as long as it responds to the grade in zwift in a predictable way (steeper=harder, more steeper=more harder) the idea of 'calibrated' resistance is meaningless because everyone can choose how much resistance to simulate anyway. Zwift moves you along the course based your power output and in game bike you're guy is using, not on how much resistance its applying to your trainer.
wouldn't that have made it a dumb trainer?
spelger is offline  
Old 01-09-21, 12:29 AM
  #20  
Atlas Shrugged
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked 243 Times in 135 Posts
Originally Posted by billridesbikes View Post
Having used both Peloton and a smart trainer, a Peloton will be able to give you probably more resistance than a smart trainer, not less. I think the risk is that you have too much resistance, not too little. However the resistance selection on the Peloton is pretty smooth and easy to fine tune while you're riding. I've never been a good sprinter, but it at least it has no trouble with my puny ~900W efforts.
All your smart trainer is doing is turning a virtual knob in the device to increase or decrease the magnetic resistance. I believer the new Peloton is able to do something similar so you can automatically follow the class resistance. Your smart trainer could have given you a physical knob too.

In Zwift riders can set their smart trainer to between 0%-100% difficultly for the applied resistance, so as long as it responds to the grade in zwift in a predictable way (steeper=harder, more steeper=more harder) the idea of 'calibrated' resistance is meaningless because everyone can choose how much resistance to simulate anyway. Zwift moves you along the course based your power output and in game bike you're guy is using, not on how much resistance its applying to your trainer.
Top level smart trainers are capable of holding 2,000 watts with +-1%. Peloton is simply not made to perform at those levels either in accuracy or resistance.

Regarding Zwift the difficulty factor does not change the effort required to accomplish the effort rather it affects resistance, which for smart trainers becomes a issue under low cadence situations. Which is another issue with this idea, is offers only pure ERG mode with no virtual gearing so no ability to adjust cadence or speed on a climb.

Last edited by Atlas Shrugged; 01-09-21 at 12:34 AM.
Atlas Shrugged is offline  
Old 01-09-21, 10:00 AM
  #21  
dmanthree
Senior Member
 
dmanthree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northeastern MA, USA
Posts: 1,253

Bikes: 2017 Roubaix

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 468 Post(s)
Liked 116 Times in 82 Posts
Originally Posted by msu2001la View Post
Yes. This would also be way more accurate than the device being discussed, though adding power meter pedals to your Peloton is a very expensive setup that would still leave you with a single-speed bike and manually controlled resistance. You'd have to really love riding your Peloton bike to add $700 pedals (and a second screen) just to ride it on Zwift.

This device seems to work by sending estimated power based on resistance to Zwift and also allows Zwift to automatically control the resistance on the bike, so it basically turns an otherwise "dumb" Peloton bike into a "smart" trainer. It also looks like it simulates gearing by also adding/removing resistance. They show Zwift running on the Peloton screen, but I don't think that's possible without hacking the unit. So, the end result is going to be a very expensive setup with accuracy that is not going to be anywhere near as good as a basic wheel-on smart trainer setup, with a messy second screen setup.

The weird thing about a Peloton bike is that it has the ability to be a really awesome Zwift machine, or even a direct competitor to Zwift. It has a built-in power meter and measures resistance. It connects to bluetooth, has a built in CPU and a nice huge screen, etc. Peloton is a closed platform though, and doesn't broadcast any info outside of its own network. I've also never understood why Peloton doesn't have a more sophisticated resistance control (like an ERG mode), or provide automatic resistance control for "scenic rides". It'a a nice spin bike, but comes with a tightly controlled closed platform aimed squarely at participating in spin classes and really nothing else.
Didin't Peleton introduce a bike with automatic resistance changes? And get sued by Nordic?
dmanthree is offline  
Old 01-09-21, 10:19 AM
  #22  
Ed Wiser
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked 50 Times in 30 Posts
Originally Posted by dmanthree View Post
Didin't Peleton introduce a bike with automatic resistance changes? And get sued by Nordic?
The new model adjust the resistance that the class is using. Itís a spin bike not a road bike simulator like a smart trainer. Apple and Oranges.
Ed Wiser is offline  
Old 01-09-21, 06:43 PM
  #23  
dmanthree
Senior Member
 
dmanthree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northeastern MA, USA
Posts: 1,253

Bikes: 2017 Roubaix

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 468 Post(s)
Liked 116 Times in 82 Posts
Originally Posted by Ed Wiser View Post
The new model adjust the resistance that the class is using. Itís a spin bike not a road bike simulator like a smart trainer. Apple and Oranges.
Ah, OK. For me...still worthless. But I do know several people who have them and it works for them.
dmanthree is offline  
Old 01-10-21, 01:26 PM
  #24  
Ed Wiser
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked 50 Times in 30 Posts
Itís just such to different types of cycling.
Ed Wiser is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.