Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Indoor & Stationary Cycling Forum
Reload this Page >

I finally noticed the effect of a zwift update

Notices
Indoor & Stationary Cycling Forum From spin to Zwift to Peloton, this forum is dedicated to any and all indoor training on stationary bikes

I finally noticed the effect of a zwift update

Old 03-19-21, 11:05 AM
  #1  
unterhausen
Randomhead
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Happy Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 21,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 1,226 Times in 887 Posts
I finally noticed the effect of a zwift update

As a relative newbie, I have wanted them to make it so you could do more than one ride without quitting in order to collect route badges. Well, they finally implemented that. I hate it


The exit dialog has a big, "save" button. I didn't really look for a save and quit button, but now I know that "save" only means "save" and not "save and quit" I will look for it.

I use a PC, so I find updates to be mostly annoying. No choice, have to update before the ride. And there have been times where it wasn't clear they were actually doing an update. I have restarted the game during an update more than once.
unterhausen is offline  
Likes For unterhausen:
Old 03-19-21, 07:51 PM
  #2  
spelger
Senior Member
 
spelger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: reno, nv
Posts: 842

Bikes: yes, i have one

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 399 Post(s)
Liked 362 Times in 208 Posts
Originally Posted by unterhausen View Post
As a relative newbie, I have wanted them to make it so you could do more than one ride without quitting in order to collect route badges. Well, they finally implemented that. I hate it


The exit dialog has a big, "save" button. I didn't really look for a save and quit button, but now I know that "save" only means "save" and not "save and quit" I will look for it.

I use a PC, so I find updates to be mostly annoying. No choice, have to update before the ride. And there have been times where it wasn't clear they were actually doing an update. I have restarted the game during an update more than once.
Noticed this yesterday too. Thought I was dreaming. glad they finally figured out how to do it. I only wonder what they broke in the process though. time will tell.
spelger is offline  
Old 03-20-21, 02:12 PM
  #3  
unterhausen
Randomhead
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Happy Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 21,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 1,226 Times in 887 Posts
They broke the "save and quit" button, there isn't one. I think the save button should be small and off to the side and "save and quit" be where it was.
unterhausen is offline  
Likes For unterhausen:
Old 03-20-21, 05:42 PM
  #4  
spelger
Senior Member
 
spelger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: reno, nv
Posts: 842

Bikes: yes, i have one

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 399 Post(s)
Liked 362 Times in 208 Posts
Originally Posted by unterhausen View Post
They broke the "save and quit" button, there isn't one. I think the save button should be small and off to the side and "save and quit" be where it was.
Ha! you are right. noticed that today too. funny i didn't notice the otehr day. it wouldn't be zwift if they did not break something fixing something else.
spelger is offline  
Old 03-20-21, 09:23 PM
  #5  
guachi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked 258 Times in 137 Posts
I did a "Save" and the ride never uploaded the screenshots.
guachi is offline  
Old 03-21-21, 08:38 PM
  #6  
billridesbikes
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked 266 Times in 162 Posts
Originally Posted by unterhausen View Post
They broke the "save and quit" button, there isn't one. I think the save button should be small and off to the side and "save and quit" be where it was.
Standard procedure for software. Each bug fix creates a minimum of two new bugs.
billridesbikes is offline  
Likes For billridesbikes:
Old 03-25-21, 12:01 PM
  #7  
msu2001la
Senior Member
 
msu2001la's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Midwest
Posts: 1,296
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 532 Post(s)
Liked 406 Times in 254 Posts
I thought it was weird that my Zwift app wasn't closing automatically after hitting "Save". I know realize this is a feature, not a bug.

My Zwift updates automatically while booting, so I don't always notice when an update is happening because I'm usually faffing around with 30 other things getting ready to ride. Where is my HR strap, anyways?
msu2001la is offline  
Likes For msu2001la:
Old 03-25-21, 12:44 PM
  #8  
unterhausen
Randomhead
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Happy Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 21,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 1,226 Times in 887 Posts
My hr strap is hanging over my handlebars, like it has been for months now. Probably should change the battery and use it, but connectivity was definitely not improved by going to ANT+

I think this update goes in the category of "be careful what you ask for"

I have had the updater never do anything until I restarted zwift. Just sits there with the splash screen forever. Usually it gets windows to ask permission to change the system right away, which means that it's going to work.
unterhausen is offline  
Old 03-25-21, 01:20 PM
  #9  
spelger
Senior Member
 
spelger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: reno, nv
Posts: 842

Bikes: yes, i have one

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 399 Post(s)
Liked 362 Times in 208 Posts
Originally Posted by unterhausen View Post
My hr strap is hanging over my handlebars, like it has been for months now. Probably should change the battery and use it, but connectivity was definitely not improved by going to ANT+

I think this update goes in the category of "be careful what you ask for"

I have had the updater never do anything until I restarted zwift. Just sits there with the splash screen forever. Usually it gets windows to ask permission to change the system right away, which means that it's going to work.
That, in my opinion, is one of the problems with zwift. as far as i can tell you do not have a choice and the update comes before you ride. i'd far prefer to update after i ride, not before partly based on time and partly based on "what did they break this time."
spelger is offline  
Old 03-25-21, 05:31 PM
  #10  
unterhausen
Randomhead
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Happy Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 21,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 1,226 Times in 887 Posts
Microsoft used to do that, offer to update when you log off. When zwift does a major update, you'll see people riding around on what appears to be a totally different map. I'm not sure how those people do that, but I have always assumed they didn't update somehow.
unterhausen is offline  
Old 03-25-21, 08:21 PM
  #11  
atwl77
Kamen Rider
 
atwl77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: KL, MY
Posts: 941

Bikes: Fuji Transonic Elite, Marechal Soul Ultimate, Dahon Dash Altena

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked 182 Times in 114 Posts
It's standard ops for any multiplayer online game to check and update the client before it attempts to connect to the server. You don't want mismatching clients mingling with each other on the server, otherwise there may be discrepancies depending on the differences between the client version.
atwl77 is offline  
Old 04-15-21, 09:22 PM
  #12  
himespau 
Senior Member
 
himespau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 11,830
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2530 Post(s)
Liked 1,102 Times in 645 Posts
Originally Posted by unterhausen View Post
Microsoft used to do that, offer to update when you log off. When zwift does a major update, you'll see people riding around on what appears to be a totally different map. I'm not sure how those people do that, but I have always assumed they didn't update somehow.
Apple products (sometimes Android too) usually get the updates later. Sometimes the delay can be as much as a week.
himespau is online now  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.