Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Indoor & Stationary Cycling Forum
Reload this Page >

For those with a Direto trainer

Notices
Indoor & Stationary Cycling Forum From spin to Zwift to Peloton, this forum is dedicated to any and all indoor training on stationary bikes

For those with a Direto trainer

Old 11-27-23, 10:03 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
spelger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: reno, nv
Posts: 2,244

Bikes: yes, i have one

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1106 Post(s)
Liked 1,146 Times in 667 Posts
For those with a Direto trainer

So a recent thread popped up about Direto with a fantastic price, my Kicker broke so the timing couldn't be better. I now wish the timing had been horrible.

so for those who have one of these how would you rate the trainer in ERG mode? for me i have done a few workouts and about half have been like nothing i have ever done on the Kicker. today was the absolute worst, it behaved as if the trainer were only in a fixed resistance mode at some default setting, i was flying through segments that required 125% of my FTP and they felt just like the 55% segments. all the while my cadence and gearing was maintained essentially constant. looking at the fit file i see the virtual speed all over the place.

i am currently in contact with Elite about this but it seems like i've reached some call center and they are just going down a list of why it is correct and why i am wrong. very unhappy with this purchase.

not wanting to dis Elite but i am getting pretty frustrated now.

(damn broken wahoo kicker.)
spelger is offline  
Old 11-28-23, 08:31 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
spelger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: reno, nv
Posts: 2,244

Bikes: yes, i have one

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1106 Post(s)
Liked 1,146 Times in 667 Posts
Well they reached out to me again this morning with the suggestion to clean the motor screw. i think they are now starting to move from the denial phase to the bargaining phase.
at least i now have permission to open up the unit.
spelger is offline  
Old 11-28-23, 08:34 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
PeteHski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 7,779
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4051 Post(s)
Liked 4,440 Times in 2,757 Posts
I have a Direto X (2019 model) and it behaves pretty well in ERG mode. I have a Kickr Bike to compare it with and ERG mode workouts feel pretty similar on both. Don't let them tell you it is normal behaviour. It might be worth looking up DCRainmaker's review and comments section. If there was an inherent problem he would have flagged it up for sure.
PeteHski is offline  
Old 11-28-23, 02:25 PM
  #4  
Full Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked 42 Times in 31 Posts
It sounds like you were not connected to the trainer. Bluetooth? If so, did you check if it was behaving the same with Ant+ FE-C? Yes, the delay is more acute on Elite trainers. My H2 is night and day compared to my first-gen Drivo. Luckily I never had to deal with Bluetooth or Bluetooth FTMS.
kcjc is offline  
Old 11-29-23, 08:28 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
spelger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: reno, nv
Posts: 2,244

Bikes: yes, i have one

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1106 Post(s)
Liked 1,146 Times in 667 Posts
yes, i was connected. the trainer responded to my input power and cadence changes while watching on teh screen. it just did not apply the target power or grade changes when instructed. as if the RX portion did not work.

i've not had a problem with either ANT or BLE on my Kicker. with the Direto neither is consistent. the connection was with BLE, after riding for an hour i was too frustrated to try with ANT.

so took off the cover yesterday and did their motor exercise test, it went fine. need the proper lube to complete the test though. they call out technical vaseline grease. wonder how many use Vaseline from the drug store?
spelger is offline  
Likes For spelger:
Old 11-29-23, 11:18 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
PeteHski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 7,779
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4051 Post(s)
Liked 4,440 Times in 2,757 Posts
What App and hardware are you using for your ERG mode workouts? It sounds like your trainer might have been connected to the App in passive mode ie it would just report power and cadence to the App but not allow the App to control resistance.
PeteHski is offline  
Old 11-29-23, 02:10 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
spelger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: reno, nv
Posts: 2,244

Bikes: yes, i have one

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1106 Post(s)
Liked 1,146 Times in 667 Posts
Funny you should mention passive mode. i was thinking just that same thing on my way in to work this morning.

i was using Rouvy. had been quite some time since i had used it so of course it got updated (by me). i'm wondering if there is some sort of observe function like in zwift. i've only tried 4 rides in Rouvy since installing it and looked at the fit files, all were incorrect. last night i did a quick ERG test with my own app and it worked flawlessly. did a ride in Indivelo, worked fine. was using FulGaz but finding that an unpleasent experience. it did work though but ERG was not what i would have expected, hard for the Direto to maintain target power. i compare to hwat i had though: Kicker.

some things to look at after work today.
spelger is offline  
Old 11-29-23, 06:23 PM
  #8  
Advocatus Diaboli
 
Sy Reene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Wherever I am
Posts: 8,552

Bikes: Merlin Cyrene, Nashbar steel CX

Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4672 Post(s)
Liked 1,507 Times in 982 Posts
Try asking on the Elite trainer FB page.. I know, we hate FB, but it might work out :-)

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1380212845399014
Sy Reene is offline  
Old 11-29-23, 06:36 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
PeteHski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 7,779
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4051 Post(s)
Liked 4,440 Times in 2,757 Posts
Originally Posted by spelger
Funny you should mention passive mode. i was thinking just that same thing on my way in to work this morning.

i was using Rouvy. had been quite some time since i had used it so of course it got updated (by me). i'm wondering if there is some sort of observe function like in zwift. i've only tried 4 rides in Rouvy since installing it and looked at the fit files, all were incorrect. last night i did a quick ERG test with my own app and it worked flawlessly. did a ride in Indivelo, worked fine. was using FulGaz but finding that an unpleasent experience. it did work though but ERG was not what i would have expected, hard for the Direto to maintain target power. i compare to hwat i had though: Kicker.

some things to look at after work today.
I was using Sufferfest/SYSTM and Zwift for ERG mode sessions and they both worked well. I only used Rouvy in sim mode, which worked fine. But I never used ERG mode in Rouvy.
PeteHski is offline  
Old 11-29-23, 08:19 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
spelger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: reno, nv
Posts: 2,244

Bikes: yes, i have one

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1106 Post(s)
Liked 1,146 Times in 667 Posts
Originally Posted by PeteHski
I was using Sufferfest/SYSTM and Zwift for ERG mode sessions and they both worked well. I only used Rouvy in sim mode, which worked fine. But I never used ERG mode in Rouvy.
well chalk up the error to me, i looked high and low in Rouvy for a monitor mode, or just a watch mode and couldn't find one. then i decided to have a look at the connections and found that the trainer was connected as a power meter and then i noticed a controller down at the bottom. that was it. Rouvy recently made a lot of UI changes and i think i just missed it.

but, i will say that the ERG mode session was really flawless after having re-lubed the motor's lead screw. power was only ever off my 1 or 2 % of target. this was much controlled compared to the ERG sessions i did in FulGaz.

hoping this solves my issues. time will tell. i got pretty beat up today so will ride again friday.
spelger is offline  
Old 11-29-23, 08:21 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
spelger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: reno, nv
Posts: 2,244

Bikes: yes, i have one

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1106 Post(s)
Liked 1,146 Times in 667 Posts
Originally Posted by Sy Reene
Try asking on the Elite trainer FB page.. I know, we hate FB, but it might work out :-)

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1380212845399014
you're right, i do hate face book. i started an account last year by my sister's recommendation to help my dad sell a bunch of things after my mom passed away and it really was a nightmare. craig's list was so much easier. have not looked at FB in a couple of months.
spelger is offline  
Old 11-30-23, 04:47 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
PeteHski's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 7,779
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4051 Post(s)
Liked 4,440 Times in 2,757 Posts
Originally Posted by spelger
well chalk up the error to me, i looked high and low in Rouvy for a monitor mode, or just a watch mode and couldn't find one. then i decided to have a look at the connections and found that the trainer was connected as a power meter and then i noticed a controller down at the bottom. that was it. Rouvy recently made a lot of UI changes and i think i just missed it.

but, i will say that the ERG mode session was really flawless after having re-lubed the motor's lead screw. power was only ever off my 1 or 2 % of target. this was much controlled compared to the ERG sessions i did in FulGaz.

hoping this solves my issues. time will tell. i got pretty beat up today so will ride again friday.
Yeah thatís what I meant by passive mode ie. not connected as a controllable trainer. I think you will be fine with the Direto. I used mine heavily for 2 years before I went all-in with a Kickr Bike. It responded pretty well even on short, high power sprint intervals.
PeteHski is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.