Cycling and bicycle discussion forums. 
   Click here to join our community Log in to access your Control Panel  

Go Back   > >

Introductions Welcome to the BikeForums community! Please introduce yourself to other forum members here.

User Tag List

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-06-07, 07:57 PM   #1
Junior Member
Thread Starter
LeatherneckPA's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Newbie from Wililamsport, PA USA

Howdy y'all.

Hmmm, let's see? I am a 49 year old male, 6' 2" tall, and weigh about 330 pounds. All of my vitals are very good and my cholesterol is 154, so my doc is happy. I've been married to my wife for 26 years, so I'm happy and I guess she is. We have one 25 year old daughter, and we're expecting a grandson in December. Don't ask about the WSIL, he's WORTHLESS.

I served in the United States Marine Corps and then became a Deputy Sheriff. I've spent the last 23 years working in Federal prisons as an officer and then as a shift supervisor (Lieutenant), so I've got really thick skin. I get to retire at the end of 2008, at the age of 50. I am a certified referee for USA Cycling and UCI races. I teach motorcycle safety courses for the state of PA. And I am a certified substitute teacher for my four county region.

I got here via google searching for info. I belong to three other forums, Early Retirement, Simple Living, and Homesteading Today. Which pretty much sums up my hopes for retirement. Retiring at 50, living on our own little farm, and raising most of our food, while maintaining a simple lifestyle. Which is where the bicycle comes into play. Our current house is 4 miles from the outskirts, 5 miles from the nearest hardware/lumber store, 6 mies from the grocery, 7 miles from the library, and 10 miles from Wal-Mart.

As retirement has approached I have begun to reconsider some ideas I hadn't thought of in a long time; reducing my environmental footprint, maintaining genetic diversity in my food chain, and basically returning to a less harried and hustled life than I've lived these past 25 years. I can't claim that I did it for environmental reasons, nor even for cost savings, but in the last four years I have ridden my motorcycles at least 7 months out of each year. I have totaled over 80,000 miles on motorcycles in that time, and during a trip to TN in the summer of '06 my wife and I toasted both our 25th wedding anniversary and my 250,000th mile on two wheels. I just prefer riding to driving my pickup.

Living as close to town as we do I have visions of becoming nearly pickup free. I want to start riding my virtually unused bicycle as my primary means of going to town. It's a Fuji Palisade model, I think I bought it in 2003, maybe 2002. i have a lightly traveled country road that loops back to my house after 4 miles. so it's a perfect warm-up/training ride. Once I can do that without hurting I plan to start riding to town at least once a week for errands. the impetus for this decision is two-fold. One, I want to reduce my oil usage. And two, I want to build fitness so I can live a long and healthy retirement.

About the only thing I know about cycling is that I know nothing. Oh, and that Team Lipton has some of the prettiest ladies in professional cycle racing. so pleasebe patient with my DNG questions. (Dumb New Guy)
LeatherneckPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-07, 08:43 PM   #2
East Hill
Lanky Lass
East Hill's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Take a deep breath, and ask--What would Sheldon do?
Bikes: Nishiki Nut! International, Pro, Olympic 12, Sport mixte, and others too numerous to mention.
Posts: 21,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Hi lthrnckpa, if you have really thick skin, we could always use another voice in Advocacy & Safety! You have quite a resume there.

But it sounds as if you could contribute a lot to the Living Car Free forum as well , so I'll hope to see you over there!

Welcome to BF!

East Hill
East Hill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-07, 07:12 PM   #3
Senior Member
drissel's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Welcome to the forum, I take it you are from Williamsport PA, funny thing so am I, moved to Ohio7 years ago. So what part of Williamsport are you from, from my screen name drop the first letter, and you probably heard of the last name as a TV shop,I graduated from Loyalsock in '74, lived in Southside for several years..did you ride the Pine Creek Trail yet, I plan on it sometime when I come back for a visit, if I have time. Well welcome.
drissel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-07, 07:34 PM   #4
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: south jersey
Posts: 1,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
welcom x3!
i am envious about your endeavor, hope i can have simular choices set when i reach age 50, but reality suggests age 57+...
i had attempted to go to williamsport junior college/vocational school in the early 1980s for tool and die machinist (advanced machine trades) but was side-stepped by life!
Anyway, welcome again. also reaching mile 250k must have been exiting!!
tomg is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:24 PM.

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to and affiliated sites.
  • Ask a Question
    get answers from real people!
Click to start entering your question.