Bike Forums

Bike Forums (https://www.bikeforums.net/forum.php)
-   Mountain Biking (https://www.bikeforums.net/mountain-biking/)
-   -   Not sure if this is legit? (https://www.bikeforums.net/mountain-biking/821906-not-sure-if-legit.html)

New2 05-30-12 11:08 PM

Not sure if this is legit?
 
This guy on craigslist says this bike is a 2000 Trek 7000 ZX. On bikepedia it says it doesn't come in this color heres a picture:
http://images.craigslist.org/5Ld5Hd5...6e7072129e.jpg
and bikepedia :
http://www.bikepedia.com/quickbike/B...7000&Type=bike
So any explanations?
Also its practically unused how much do you think its worth? Lastly whats the difference between the trek 7000, 7000 zx and 8000?
Thanks

dminor 05-30-12 11:14 PM

We ran into this earlier with a Specialized someone was asking about. Go back one year to the '99 and you'll see one of the colors was Dragonfly Green and came with a Judy XC as pictured in the ad.

This happens a lot even with original purchasers. They forget what year it was or they go by the year they recall purchasing it - - which may have been from leftover stock from the previous model year.

TacomaSailor 05-31-12 12:47 AM

I have a Specialized Stumpjumper MX2 that I purchased NEW in late 2001.

Last year I tried to rebuilt the front shock and downloaded the appropriate manual. Nothing I found in that manual matched the shock on my bike. I eventually determined the front shock was a version that came only on the 1999 model. Further research found other components that were not used on Specialized Stumpjumpers after 2000.

It appears that the year in which you purchase a Specialized bike does not tell you the year in which is was manufactured or at least assembled.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.