Cycling and bicycle discussion forums. 
   Click here to join our community Log in to access your Control Panel  

Go Back   > >

Professional Cycling For the Fans Follow the Tour de France,the Giro de Italia, the Spring Classics, or other professional cycling races? Here's your home...

User Tag List

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-20-11, 02:50 PM   #1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Bikes: Surly LHT set up for commuting
Posts: 646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
DQ question

If a rider is ejected for doping, can a person from that same team still finish on the podium? I'm thinking specifically about TTT & any advantages a "boosted" rider would provide to a GC.
Greg_R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-11, 03:05 PM   #2
Caretaker's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Bikes: Specialized Sirrus, Giant OCR3, Giant CRS3
Posts: 1,676
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Riders aren't ejected for doping they leave 'voluntarily'. The B sample results are never in by the end of the race so technically they still haven't tested positive.

The answer to your question is yes team mates of a rider whose A sample tests postive could end up winning the TdF. If the B sample was also positive they would still be the winner as far as I know.
Caretaker is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:55 PM.

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to and affiliated sites.
  • Ask a Question
    get answers from real people!
Click to start entering your question.