Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Old tube as patch material?

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-07, 09:13 AM
Commuter

Bikes: 2006 Giant Cypress EX (7-speed internal hub)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi, there. I'm a relative mechanical newbie. I'm also a cheapskate who hates to throw things out, so I tend to patch tubes that can be patched instead of just throwing them out if they only have one or two holes.

I'm finding that I go through patches faster than I go through the glue to attach them, so as I go through patch kits, I'm accumulating partial glue tubes, still usable scuffers, and empty plastic boxes that the patches come in. Instead of buying a new patch kit just to get the patches, I'm wondering if I can just cut patches from old unpatchable tubes. Does that work just as well as store-bought patches?
Old 09-03-07, 09:22 AM
Mad bike riding scientist

Bikes: Some silver ones, a red one, a black and orange one, and a few titanium ones

Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6247 Post(s)
Liked 4,270 Times in 2,392 Posts
Originally Posted by JohnBrooking
Hi, there. I'm a relative mechanical newbie. I'm also a cheapskate who hates to throw things out, so I tend to patch tubes that can be patched instead of just throwing them out if they only have one or two holes.