Go Back  Bike Forums > Community Connections > Regional Discussions > Northern California
Reload this Page >

Altamont Road in Los Alto Hills

Search
Notices
Northern California Northern California

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-10, 03:53 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked 12 Times in 12 Posts

I’ve noticed that the extensive painted warnings for bicyclists entering the “S” turn on Altamont Road in Los Alto Hills have recently been sanded off. The attached PDF gives background to the warnings which were put in as a liability concerns mounted as a result of a spate of accidents in 2005-09.

https://www.losaltoshills.ca.gov/docu...90309_AI14.pdf

I’ve been riding this stretch for 25 years and know how fast I can safely enter it. But I completely understand how the unwary can be taken surprise by it. I thought the road markings were an effective “heads up” (and I’m thankful the township didn’t see fit to add yet another stop sign for “safety” purposes). That’s why I don’t understand why the markings are now gone, does anyone know the answer to this?
Old 03-19-10, 04:47 PM
Direct Hit Not Required

Bikes: Leopard DC1, Ridley X-Fire, GT Zaskar 9r

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Maybe the marking were put in temporarily to see if the number of crashes decreases; and once the study was over, the markings were removed.

Looking at the map in the PDF, the left-hand curve doesn't look like it's a decreasing radius curve at all (like previously discussed here).
Old 04-11-10, 05:45 PM

Bikes: 2008 Specialized Roubaix Elite Triple

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts