Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

call me crazy but...help?

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-10, 02:54 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

before reading further....I will say that i just started biking this past june (1) religiously. instead of the MTA (subway) i been commuting. its about 21 miles per day. I have racked up over 1500 miles already and so i'm an extreme newbie so go easy on me.

During that time the most i have done myself was clean my bike, oil it up. replace the brake pads, change tire, tubes.

so i went away on business for 2 week and i ask my wife to bring the bike into the shop because it was slipping on me..not much but once in a blue moon when bike standing up and applying lots of pressure. it would slip just once then catch so i couldn't duplicate it everytime.

so anyway....she brought the bike in for them to check on the slippage (which randomly happen) and to tune it up for me.

anyway i'm back from the trip and the bike is all nice and clean for me and the tech told my wife that the bike was just really dirty and shifter was a little off.

i just rode it around the block to see if it would slip and i notice that the bike is not silent no more. like i hear the wheel spinning.. i hear this clicking noise by the freewheel and i don't recall hearing it when i brought the bike back in June. I put in some more oil (finishline) but i can still hear the wheel spin.

so my question is...if i lift the back wheel and spin it...should the wheel be silent or should i hear a clicking sound (sounds like that wheel of fortune wheel when they spin it)

the wheel spins with no resistance.

oh yeah..i have a dahon p8 (fold)