Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg)
Reload this Page >

Getting started and looking for places to ride

Search
Notices
Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg) Looking to lose that spare tire? Ideal weight 200+? Frustrated being a large cyclist in a sport geared for the ultra-light? Learn about the bikes and parts that can take the abuse of a heavier cyclist, how to keep your body going while losing the weight, and get support from others who've been successful.

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-13, 06:40 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi all. I'm just getting started. Bought myself a 2013 Giant Cypress in October but haven't had the nerve to take it out. I am bound and determined to do so tomorrow. I'm a few weeks shy of 44, weigh 292 lbs, and everything aches. One of the things I am worried about is riding in the street. I live in NYC and cannot tell you how many bike accidents I've seen. I know they say you don't forget, but it's been 30 years since I rode a bike.

I was wondering if anyone can tell me how to locate bike paths. I'm thinking in parks or something like that - away from traffic. If there is a way to find out if the path is flat, that would be great.

I am more than willing to put the bike on my car and leave the city. I am hoping to make my first experience pleasant enough to repeat. LOL

Thanks!
Old 04-26-13, 06:54 AM

Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
maps.google.com Go to get directions and type in your city in both, then select the bike icon and it will highlight the trails.

I would also suggest a less expensive multi-level mag trainer. I found one off craiglist that included a slick tire for a really good price. I've seen some fluid trainers here and there but they are normally higher priced. It's a great way to start out getting fitter, while also figuring out the bike setup.
Old 04-26-13, 07:05 AM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts