Old 05-26-10, 09:43 AM
DaveSSS 

Bikes: Cinelli superstar disc, two Yoeleo R12

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1099 Post(s)
Liked 559 Times in 446 Posts
Originally Posted by LarDasse74
I just added one more to my 'dummy' list as well. Read the Jobst Brandt article then reply back.
I've read it. I'm also a mechanical engineer, so Brandt's got no better credentials than I do. I still don't agree that a lack of lubrication is the only possible cause for this problem. I've had a mild case of the problem with a Campy headset, years ago. I don't think it was ever overtightened and it was always well lubed. My routes always involved a reasonable number of turns and I know the fork got flopped from side to side before the start of every ride.

A headset that's too tight won't allow the fork to turn freely or self-center after a turn. Leave a headset too loose and the road vibration will beat it to death - just my opinion, not something I've ridden many miles testing.

The problem with old style headsets is getting all of the play out without overtighening. There is little margin for error. I guess the way to disprove the loose headset idea is to leave your headset loose and see if it causes any problems. If not, then I'm wrong.

What's lacking in the Brandt's response is how to tell exactly when the bearings are "too tight", if it's the only possible cause of this problem. I definitely don't want my fork rattling, nor do I want it binding. There is also no proof that riding a loose headset will not cause any damage. If Brandt had done a real-world test to prove his statement, I'd accept that evidence.