Thread: Shipping Costs
View Single Post
Old 07-08-10, 02:45 PM
wrk101
Thrifty Bill

Bikes: 86 Katakura Silk, 87 Prologue X2, 88 Cimarron LE, 1975 Sekai 4000 Professional, 73 Paramount, plus more

Mentioned: 96 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1236 Post(s)
Liked 964 Times in 628 Posts
Originally Posted by rickdog81
Does someone have the approximate dimensions of bicycle frame box for a 58cm Specialized Allez frame with fork? I am trying to get an idea of the shipping costs using fedex.com but I am not sure what dimensions to enter. The frame is coming from Colorado Springs to Los Angeles and the seller has quoted me $50, but I think he entered bicycle box dimensions not frame box dimensions. I am a graduate student so every dollar I can save counts. Thank You.
Frankly, when every dollar counts, I would look locally for a deal. $50 shipping charge is pretty reasonable.

The two breakpoints for Fed Ex are 108 inches and 130 inches. This is girth (circumference all the way around the box) plus length. Go measure a box at your local LBS. The ones I have seen were all over 108 inches, which means cutting it down quite a bit if you are shooting for 108 inches or less. And the bigger the frame, the tougher such an undertaking will be. And realize many bike shops receive frames that were shipped on a pallet, so the individual box is not handled much at all. When you ship one bicycle box, it gets handled a lot, so it better be well protected.

Here's a large frame (62cm) I recently shipped, ignore the seat post as it was removed prior to shipping. It is sitting on top of a Fuji bike box that measures 129 inches (one inch to spare).