Old 03-05-11, 02:22 PM
surgeonstone

Bikes: 1976 FRESCHI, 2004 Crumpton.

Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 925 Post(s)
Liked 21 Times in 10 Posts
Originally Posted by 18hockey
I love it, you play the anti-helmet stereotype perfectly.

He provided you with a study that was more recent then the one you claimed was the the only one used and your response was...to immediately search for a link to back up your anti-helmet opinion.

You remind me of smokers.
So you know me so well that you can dismiss me as an " anti-helmet stereotype " huh. Interesting.
And I remind you of pro smokers. Even more interesting
Couple of questions.
1) Which article or web site do smokers quote to justify their addictions safety?
2) What makes you think I did an immediate search for the link to this discussion? I did not by the way.

Really you and I are more alike than you think. I have been a pro-helmet "zealot" from 1985, when decent helmets arrived on the scene, until this year.
I have been an anti-smoking zealot since 1958. You were most likely an un united sperm and ova at this time.
I have been pro motorcycle helmet since 1971, the year I started riding motorcycles (Still do), and remain so.
I have been pro seat belt use since they were available and remain so.
Why? Because I love life and hate that which is opposed to it.
So why the difference now for me with regards to bicycle helmet use and why would I, as a physician, suggest something that some would regard as dangerous and foolhardy.
Well, in defending helmet use and quoting the oft quoted article in New England Journal of Medicine (Bicycle helmet safety, Thompson, 1989)