View Single Post
Old 06-02-11, 06:54 PM
jimmuller 
What??? Only 2 wheels?

Bikes: 72 Peugeot UO-8, 82 Peugeot TH8, 87 Bianchi Brava, 76? Masi Grand Criterium, 74 Motobecane Champion Team, 86 & 77 Gazelle champion mondial, 81? Grandis, 82? Tommasini, 83 Peugeot PF10

Mentioned: 189 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1222 Post(s)
Liked 645 Times in 232 Posts
Originally Posted by UG7890
Hi, I am very new to road bikes and to taking cycling "seriously" ... I have recently decided to resurrect my long loved hobby (and get back into shape )
Welcome to BF! A lot of people have done just what you are doing, reviving an old hobby for fun and better health. Pedal on! Keep doing it!

Today, I bought a Shogun 200 for $100. Seems to be in fair/good shape, but I would rather have some pro's look at it and tell me what I should do. I figure this bike is a good entry level bike. (I don't know if it matters but it's a woman's bike lol) What do you guys think?
I'm not familiar with the Shogun models though I remember the name. But that sounds like a decent price for a rideable bike with everything in good working order. That's the key, of course. Whether it is entry-level or not doesn't make a whole lot of difference unless you are, say, trying to keep up with the A group in a club ride (which sure isn't my cup of tea, for what that's worth).

As to the bike being a woman's, the more common term today is step-through, and it isn't considered a woman's bike per se. With modern bikes all having a sloping TT anyway, there isn't any difference between a traditional "men's" diamond frame and step-through. If your bike is a mixte frame, good specimens are sometimes in high demand.