Old 06-25-11, 01:49 PM
gcottay

Bikes: Trice Q; Volae Century; TT 3.4

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by GetUpnGo
As a cyclist I have full respect for the sport and no love for drivers who pass me too close, cut me off, etc.

Now, as a DRIVER, I'm irritated by the weekend club riders who ride double, claim a strip of pavement 5' wide when riding single file, or weave from side to side. I can't understand this. When I ride in traffic I try to ride in a straight line and take up as little space as possible. If I can safely ride on the right side of the white shoulder line I do so.

I live in an area with narrow, winding roads with little opportunity to pass these road hogs safely. Sometimes I drive along at 16 mph for several minutes before it's safe to pass them. They seem oblivious to the traffic behind them.

What's the thinking behind this behavior? "We have a right to one full lane"?

What's the best way to deal with these folks?

For me as a cyclist, what is the proper etiquette and safe riding habit in traffic?
You are not going to like this, friend.

If a cyclist riding taking a five-foot ribbon of road makes it unsafe to pass in that lane, as it certainly seems from your "narrow" description, a single cyclist really should be taking a position to occupy the WHOLE lane to keep people like you from trying to do an unsafe pass. Imagine the rider two feet from pavement edge and the required three-foot safety zone and do the math for yourself. If there's not enough room left for you and your motor vehicle, a pass is unsafe. If cyclists are riding two or three wide on that same road they are doing you a favor by shortening the lane you must pass.