Old 08-24-11, 09:16 PM
electrik
Single-serving poster

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by sunstorm
First, my comment about him getting out there and working on maintenance was that his EXCUSE to be a on a trail that was CLOSED to mountain bikes was that the bridges on the mountain bike trails had been washed out. If my mountain bike breaks down and I'm not willing to fix it, can I just take someone elses? Would you be all right with that, particularly if it is your bike? How about if I decide that lovely, well maintained, hard packed mountain biking trail is perfect for a motorized dirt bike or a quad? Still ok with it? I am a heavy trail user; I bike, run, orienteer, letterbox, and hike on trails. I am also a biologist and spend a lot of time volunteering in restoration and maintenance of nature settings.
What you're trying to say is bicycles are to hikers as dirtbikes are to bicycles? If so you're dead wrong. A bicycle weighs 30lbs and it doesn't turn into a magical trail shedding sulfurous flame spewing demonic machine ready to thrash your rainbow coloured hike. There is plenty of evidence a bicycle isn't going to ruin a trail anymore than hikers. Common sense means the largest factor is weight and width. Lets hope we don't have to ban obese people.