View Single Post
Old 09-22-11, 04:49 PM
gyozadude

Bikes: Bridgestone RB-1, 600, T700, MB-6 w/ Dirt Drops, MB-Zip, Bianchi Limited, Nashbar Hounder

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I feel like a retro-grouch. I started riding a long time ago before indexed shifting. And even today, I still ride friction most of the time. I sort of drop all nomenclature for gear numbers and basically ride on each bike I own often enough so I get familiar with what gives me the right torque at the pedals for me to push effectively.

Some notes on my experiences that might vary for others:

1. My body is non-linear. I may be able to output more power honking for a mile uphill in a taller gear, than to sit and spin and struggle in lower gear. For folks that have ridden a lot, you'll be familiar with "rider fatigue" due to too much time in the saddle in the same position. So spinning isn't always the solution. Sometimes, honking out of the saddle for a mile can be more effective. And for some of us, this is still aerobic exercise. Anaerobic exercise is when you cannot process sufficient oxygen to supply the demand the muscles are requesting, and so you breathe harder and harder but finally have to stop after a minute or so. Aerobic exercise is when your output can be sustained until you run out of blood sugar to burn with that oxygen.