View Single Post
Old 01-10-12, 08:39 AM
Doohickie
You gonna eat that?

Bikes: 1966 Raleigh DL-1 Tourist, 1973 Schwinn Varsity, 1983 Raleigh Marathon, 1994 Nishiki Sport XRS

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked 67 Times in 44 Posts
Originally Posted by melonious
yea its weird because I never seen anyone ride on the road before like that in my life lol.
I know what you mean. When I started riding again in 2008, I had never heard of "vehicular cycling" and was pretty much taught to stay out of the way of cars, in the fringes. In actuality, you are safer out in the lane in many conditions. Check the laws in your state (Google "[YourState] Bicycle Laws" and you should be able to find a summary pretty easily).

If you stick against the curb in a lane that is not really wide enough for bikes and cars to operate side by side safely, you have little or no room on the right. Doing so, though, invites cars to pass without changing lanes and it can be a tight squeeze. A small error on anyone's part and the cyclist is going down and maybe suffering serious injury. If there truly isn't enough room, it's safer to control the entire lane, which sends the signals drivers behind you that they need to change lanes in order to pass you, which gives you a LOT more room.

Originally Posted by dynodonn
Whenever I see the video that was in the OP, I always wanted to see the raw video in it's entirety rather than the edited version, to see if cyclists actually fared as well behind the scenes as they did on camera.