Old 08-11-05, 06:45 PM
sabretech2001

Bikes: Road and Fix, Tutto Campagnolo, certo!

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I worked for years as a messenger, and there has always, at least in my experience, been problems on 6Ave, especially in the 40's and 50's. I think (only my opinion, now) that the width of the avenue coupled with the distance the buildings are set back from the curb gives drivers a false sense of space, and all of a sudden, they need to go as fast as possible and to drive their vehicles all over the road. The bike lane is a total joke, unless you feel, as the cabbies do, that a bright yellow taxicab is in fact a bicycle.
As a NYC resident, I've found that Verizon drivers seem to think that the traffic regs don't apply to them. Arrogant, reckless, and offering violence: yep, that's my experience, too. I'm 6', 200lbs, (and when I was riding for a living) with a very large chain/lock, so there was no escalation on 6Ave that you describe. However, while on a fun/training ride across Gun Hill Road in the Bronx, I had one of these guys pull a U turn across all 4 lanes to change direction, passing so close to me and my (then) brand new Ciocc (yeah, I was the first kid on my block with one), that I could feel the heat from the engine compartment as he passed. I used all the bad language I could muster, and when he offered to step outside the van, I accepted, and proceded to 'show him the error of his ways', wishing I had my chain the whole time. Not the easiest thing with Look cleats sticking out the bottom of one's shoes, but I was quite royally pi$$ed, having just seen my life, my cat's life, and my bike's life flash before my eyes. I saw the same guy about six months later, and when he recognized me, he suddenly needed to make a turn. This from the same guy who decided I was a "******" (actual quote) because I was wearing spandex (paraphrase).