Old 04-24-13, 08:33 PM
KC8QVO

Bikes: Surly Disk Trucker, 2014 w/Brooks Flyer Special saddle, Tubus racks - Duo front/Logo Evo rear, 2019 Dahon Mariner D8, Both bikes share Ortlieb Packer Plus series panniers, Garmin Edge 1000

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked 115 Times in 99 Posts
The Internet is always full of opinions so the same rule of thumb applies here - I'm sure the OP is sifting through and building his/her ideas with the input obtained in this thread.

Speaking of opinions, here are my thoughts from the backpacking arena (not biking, I know, but the constraints on backpacking can be more stringent than biking = no wheels to roll your load)

My favorite go-to stove is an MSR Simmerlite white gas stove. I've been backpacking for several years. The early trips I went on I didn't have a stove - people in my group brought the cooking gear and we spread it around (someone carries the stove, someone carries the fuel, someone carries the pot, etc, etc). That method worked great. The stove was a classic Whisperlite - and worked very well for our 4+ group outings. My first personal stove was a Snow Peak Gigapower canister stove. It works, but by biggest gripe with it is I can't get the flame to stay low enough for the lower-temp cooking/simmering that I like to do. The Simmerlite isn't a whole lot better, but at least I can set it and it stays where I put the setting (doesn't creep up in power on its own). I also have a lot of fueling options with the white gas stove that I don't have with the canisters - I can change the fuel bottle size and gain more fuel, or I can keep the small bottle and have some spare ounces stored for refilling if I got in a pinch. lots of options.