View Single Post
Old 05-15-13, 03:51 PM
hobkirk
Retired dabbler

Location: Acton, MA (20 miles west of Boston) - GORGEOUS cycling territory!

Bikes: 2007 Specialized Roubaix Elite Triple - 1st ride = century 9/19/2010 , Ultegra

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by BlazingPedals
I wrote this in the other thread, but what worked for me was getting a HRM book and figuring out an organized schedule of training which incorporated hard days, rest days, and strength-building. I found the hardest thing about the schedule was doing the easy rest days because all my friends would ride off ahead, obviously enjoying the opportunity! But after a while, I could drop them even on my easy days. Which is when I started riding with a faster group and the process started all over again.

You can ride for enjoyment or you can ride to train. If you're lucky, you can enjoy the training. I do. My biggest issue is the amount of time I can devote to it. But most people over-estimate how hard they're working, and spend most of their time in the 'dead zone' of training. Which is great if you're cycling for enjoyment, but not so good for improving your speeds.
I try to alternate hard days (like today's ride described above - HR in Zone 3 for 2-3 hours) with recovery days (usually a day off, since I find it very hard to ride in HR Zone 1). My last long ride (64 miles, my first over 40 this year) was in the "dead zone" (AHR 118, 79 RPM, 14.6 average, 48' ascent/mile) but I wanted to enjoy the day and avoid any cramping or bonking. But most of my rides result in an AHR in Zone 3.

"Riding for enjoyment" seems an awkward concept to me, especially now that I am only riding 2-4 times a week. I end almost all rides feeling spent. But that's how I want it. And obviously I plug into the concept of training as proved by my question.

Thanks. Thoughtful and useful answer.

Originally Posted by 10 Wheels