Old 11-17-13, 08:18 PM
Blue_Bulldog

Bikes: GTR 3 Series, Pure Fix India, Mongoose Ledge 2.1

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I can go either way on this one. Like the folks who said "Im a dermatologist so people show me their sores" and "I'm in IT, so people want free tech support", I have the same dilemma. I'm a sports writer, so when someone asks what I do, they immediately think I want to only talk about sports. Chuck Klosterman once said "I might have a great opinion on the Middle East, but people only want to hear my opinion on middle relievers." It's bothersome. So being introduced as a cyclist is not cool. I am a lot of things, not just one thing... and to be like "This is Michael, he rides a bike" is pretty stupid if you think about it. "This is Jeff, he drives a Mercedes" is begging for a face-punch... so I mean... cmon. Just like someone else might really not want to talk about corporate finance at a tailgate (if thats what they do), I don't really want to talk about writing sports all the time and actually would rather not. Same goes for my mode of transportation. (When is it ever acceptable to converse about that anyway???)

THAT BEING SAID.....
(disclaimer: everything after this is going to come off as arrogant, but whatever... we've earned it)