View Single Post
Old 12-01-13, 10:39 AM
sstorkel

Bikes: Cervelo RS, Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Pro, Schwinn Typhoon, Nashbar touring, custom steel MTB

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I develop mobile apps for a living and own a Nexus 5, Nexus 7, iPhone 5, and iPad mini with Retina display and cellular networking. I also own a Garmin Edge 800 GPS-enabled bicycle computer.

None of the Android or iOS displays are as easy to read as the Garmin in direct sunlight. By default, the Nexus 7 display can't be dimmed enough to make it comfortable for reading at night, even when displaying white text on a black background. Apps like Night Mode, Screen Filter, etc. are supposed to give you more control over the brightness, but I haven't tried them. I haven't tried reading at night on the Nexus 5 yet. As much as I like the Nexus 7, I have to admit that its 7-inch screen often feels very cramped when compared to the iPad mini.

Battery life of the two Android devices lags behind their iOS counter-parts. The Nexus 5 appears to be especially power-hungry. None of the devices has the longevity of the Edge 800 if you run the GPS continually, however. Getting a GPS signal seems generally faster and more reliable with the Edge 800 than any of the iOS or Android devices.