View Single Post
Old 08-22-14, 04:35 PM
Heathpack 
Has a magic bike

Bikes: 2018 Scott Spark, 2015 Fuji Norcom Straight, 2014 BMC GF01, 2013 Trek Madone

Mentioned: 699 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4456 Post(s)
Liked 425 Times in 157 Posts
Originally Posted by Makel
@RUOkie and @Heathpack I've had to wrap Chloe's paws and douse them in bitter apple. I'm worried she's going to chew a hole in them and she keeps thinking she's in trouble. She is going to get fat off of treats and cuddles. Pretty sure it's the grass, we are taking them to the vet next month, if Chloe is still chewing we'll see what the vet says.
Makel, I'm a neurologist so honestly have little practical experience with any skin problems, I have literally not primarily managed a skin problem since I was an intern 20ish years ago. So I am reaching back into the depths of my brain to give you advice. Here goes:

Most of the times when a dog is chewing at her feet, its a manifestation of an allergy compounded by a secondary skin infection (which increases itchiness). The infection is usually bacterial but occasionally is fungal. The allergy could be a contact allergy (ie her feet coming in contact with something she is allergic to, like grass), atopy (ie an inhaled allergen like pollen or dust mites), or a food allergy (ie allergic reaction to some protein in her food). The treatment for something like this is multi-pronged: try to eliminate the allergen if possible, decrease the body's systemic allergic reaction and treat any associated skin infection.