Old 05-08-15, 07:22 AM
SJX426 

Bikes: '65 Frejus TDF, '73 Bottecchia Giro d'Italia, '83 Colnago Superissimo, '84 Trek 610, '84 Trek 760, '88 Pinarello Veneto, '88 De Rosa Pro, '89 Pinarello Montello, '94 Burley Duet, 97 Specialized RockHopper, 2010 Langster, Tern Link D8

Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1609 Post(s)
Liked 2,216 Times in 1,103 Posts
To me there is a difference between passing people (cyclists) and dropping them. Dropping to me means that I have been riding with them for a period of time and then leaving them behind. I don't drop because I typically don't ride with anyone. I must confess that since I started riding the Montello to work instead of the RockHopper, I have been impressed with the difference.

On the RockHopper, I am reasonably fast for riding a nearly 50 lb bike loaded. Not like many of you, but I average around 15 - 16 mph on the commute with traffic lights etc. I do get passed by the kitted out guys on whatever they are riding with their backpacks or not. Occasionally I will pass a CF or AL bike, but it looks to me like they are newbies or wannabes, so I don't count them any more than passing Peds.