View Single Post
Old 07-16-15, 09:59 AM
simplybao

Bikes: s-works FSR stumpy, custom Lynskey, Trek Madone

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'll just chime in here with some of my experience this past years. I started riding again in May of 2014 after 20 year biking hiatus. My first bike out of the shoot was an s-works stump jumper. I thought I needed a mountain bike and could swap tires to ride on the road with my husband. He rode a Trek FX 7.4. After a couple of months of riding and not being able to keep up with him, I went and bought a Giant Escape 1 and upgraded it. Going to the Giant was a revelation it made the MTB feel like I was driving a jeep versus a sports car.

So, I went on riding the Giant for a while but got the itch for a new bike. I proceeded to do custom bike. Enter my Lynskey Viale. Road bike frame built with a "flat bar". Wow, what a difference. I was sooo much faster on my new bike. Not sure why though. On my Lynskey I'm 2 - 3 mph faster on average than on my Giant. Now my partner couldn't keep up with me. I just did a charity ride a couple months ago and almost kept up with the roadies.

On a whim I bought a used Trek Madone. OMG, what a revelation. I thought my Lynskey was quick, the Madone is FAST. It gets up to speed soooo quickly and I find it so much easier to maintain a higher speed. On sections of road where I was averaging 16 - 17 MPH on the Lynskey, I'm doing 20 on the Madone and it seems easier. So we bought my husband a 2016 Cannondale Synapse Carbon 105. Now we both ride fast.