Old 07-19-15, 10:35 PM
Hawgsnawt

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
New Super Clyde, New bike, New Lifestyle....Hello!....and Thanks!

Hello everyone!

I wanted to Thank everyone for the helpful advice I've seen so many of you giving during the last week while I've been doing some HEAVY reading on the forums here and in this section in particular. I started with MANY questions, being new to cycling, but during the week I waited to get approved and verified I found the answers to most on my own.

A little about me.... I'm 44, 365, 6'1...I have not been on a bike since I was 14. I know NOTHING about most of this fantastic new world and am eager to learn!

My wife ( also an Athena at 250 ) and I decided we had to change our lifestyle....if for no other reason than to be around long enough to see our son raised. My son is 8 this week, and is my whole world.

I was a long haul truck driver till he was born, years and YEARS of sedentary lifestyle took its toll on me, hey, its hard to work out when confined to the cab of a rig 6 weeks at a time between 3 day breaks! My wife has had a sit down office job her whole life, and was showing the effects of an inactive lifestyle as well. When my son was born...I realized I could not raise a family over the phone so I came home and got a local driving job that allowed me to be home every night. It was a physically demanding job however as it was for a home improvement chain...I drove out large lumber orders to folks building things as small as a deck, or as large as an apartment complex....however, when there were no lumber loads to run, I tried to help out the home delivery guys as much as I could and this often required dragging 500lb fridges up 3 flights of stairs....being too old for that kind of work ( imho it's a young mans game ) and having been so sedentary my whole life in the cab of the truck...it was not long till I herniated 3 disks in my lower back. I was able to make i