View Single Post
Old 10-12-15, 05:05 PM
tandempower

Mentioned: 90 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8084 Post(s)
Liked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Originally Posted by Machka
Mixed use zoning has also been used several places I've lived as well.
It is a good idea independently of mixed-job scheduling.

And as for having skilled professionals split their time between their profession and service jobs ... it is, fortunately, fanciful nonsense because that would be a complete and utter nightmare. A thing of bad futuristic sci-fi shows.
Don't be ridiculous. If I am a teacher or doctor or lawyer and I want to do other work, I should be able to without my professional or personal reputation being slaughtered for not conforming to standards that push people to maximize their effort and earning on utilizing their skill of highest value. There are more trained professionals in existence than demand for professional services so it only does good for professionals to work less at their professions and engage in other activities, paid or unpaid. I only suggest the idea that they take over local jobs near their homes to reduce the need for workers to commute across town adding to motor-congestion.

If people want to take on two or more different jobs, and can arrange their schedules to do so, as I have done in the past, that's fine. In fact, I would even suggest taking on a part-time retail job at this time of year going into Christmas in order to save some money for a nice holiday or whatever you like. Lots of people do just that.

But living in a world where we're forced to work here for 3 days a week and there for 2 days a week by some law or something ... nightmarish futuristic sci-fi show material. What a dark and depressing world that would be.