View Single Post
Old 03-07-16, 11:57 AM
Heathpack 
Has a magic bike

Bikes: 2018 Scott Spark, 2015 Fuji Norcom Straight, 2014 BMC GF01, 2013 Trek Madone

Mentioned: 699 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4456 Post(s)
Liked 425 Times in 157 Posts
Originally Posted by valygrl
heathpack - i have friends that used to be ride-friends that I had to transition into drinks-and-dinner friends when i started training harder. one of those people is now transitioning back to my recovery-ride friend.

There were other people who were just ride-buddies who it turned out we just weren't really friends off the bike. that's ok too.

just sayin' - save the important friendships, don't ruin them by running out of patience.
I have to say that I'm continually surprised how much I've maintained friendships with most of the core people from that original group. They have an anti-competition mentality, post stuff to their FB page along those lines. I respond regularly with comments along the lines of "competition is healthy" and I post a little bit about my experiences with the TTs and the training. I totally understand most people in this group don't relate, they tend to believe that bike racing is all about cutthroat competition, that the only way to achieve success is to mash everyone else down. I just want them to know its not like that, should anyone ever get an inkling to maybe give it a whirl. I try to sell it a little and to also bridge the gap with the local groups populated by racing cyclists, who I sometimes ride with.