View Single Post
Old 08-19-16, 08:04 AM
Heathpack 
Has a magic bike

Bikes: 2018 Scott Spark, 2015 Fuji Norcom Straight, 2014 BMC GF01, 2013 Trek Madone

Mentioned: 699 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4456 Post(s)
Liked 425 Times in 157 Posts
Reading the comments of @aaronmcd and @tetonrider above makes me wonder what other people feel during the evolution of TT intervals? I am new to racing (just finished 1st year), only race TTs and have been moderately successful at it. Of course being more-than-moderately successful is the goal, so I'm curious about all aspects of it, including what goes through people's heads during training (and race) efforts.

For me, I would not describe a 20 min 105% effort as painful and, unless I'm having a bad day, two of them is zero problem. (I work with a coach & can't recall ever doing more than 2, although I occasionally get assigned longer TT intervals- 30, 40 or rarely 60-70 min, obviously the longer ones are ridden at threshold not above.)

My description of a 2 x 20 @ 105% workout would go something like:
Interval 1: First 8 min feel good, somewhere around the 8 min mark I start to think things like "only 12 min left," then the rest of it requires concentration to stay on the power numbers, I notice my legs and they feel tired but I know I can finish it, last 3 min no problem to pour it on as needed to make the target.

Interval 2: Takes concentration right from the very beginning, I notice my legs, my breathing etc right away and the whole interval is like that, I have to consciously stay on the pedals all through the pedal stroke, take note of my resp pattern & adjust effort continuously, my legs feel tired but not really painful. But without concentration/focus, I'd find myself 10-15% under target. I'll have something left in the tank for a final 1-2 min push if necessary but it will be really hard & I know my best chance of making the power target on the 2nd is to not get behind.