Old 07-17-18, 10:54 AM
inspectorgadet

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Need Help - upgrades for my single speed and rebuilding an old raleigh grand prix

Hi Everyone, first time poster. I currently have a Kilo TT that ive been using since 2014 as my daily driver. I recently inherited a 1980s Peugot that has been converted to a single speed and before that I grabbed my mother in laws old Raleigh Grand Prix from her basement with plans to convert that to a single speed as well. Im about to make some upgrades and want to swap some parts around , in particular wheels but i dont think its going to be as easy as i hoped. I need some help.

Current status of each bike:
1. Kilo TT - has a carbon fork, stock wheels, new stem and headset, bullhorn handlebars, a front brake and brooks saddle, and 18t Freewheel and some platform eggbeater pedals from my mtb bike. everything else is stock.

2. Peugot - converted to single speed. upgraded wheels (not sure what they are but they're not stock), an upgraded saddle. gatorskin tires and some upgraded brake pads. Everything else is stock. has a quil stem and drop handlebars.

3. Raleigh Grand Prix - i stripped this bike down so its currently the frame, form and quil stem. I was able to grind down the bottom bracket cage? (the metal body of the frame that houses the bb) so i could squeeze a less wide but universal press fit BB with a square drive.

At first i was going to move the peugot wheels over to my kilo but quickly realized that wasnt going to work. The Puegot has a spacer and the wheel is wider so it wont fit in my kilo tt frame and the kilo tt rear wheel has no spacer, a single cog and is much more narrow.